On December 24, 2009, the United States Senate confirmed the nomination of John Norris, a Democrat, as commissioner on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (“FERC” or the “Commission”).

Mr. Norris was nominated by President Obama on June 10 to fill the seat of former Chairman Joseph Kelliher, who left the Commission on March 13, 2009.   The Senate Energy Committee approved his nomination in October (see October 9, 2009 edition of the WER).  His nomination had been held up under a threatened hold by Senator Olympia Snowe.

Norris’ term will run through June 2012.