On June 22, 2010, the United States Senate confirmed Cheryl A. LaFleur as Commissioner to the vacant seat on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (“FERC” or the “Commission”).  LaFleur’s term will expire on June 30, 2014.  LaFleur previously worked for National Grid for over twenty years.  In March 2007, while acting Chief Executive Officer (“CEO”) of National Grid, LaFleur was a part of a lobby group called Investors and Business for U.S. Climate Action, which asked Congress to set up mandatory targets for reduction of U.S. carbon emissions.  In 2007 LaFleur retired from her position as Executive Vice President and acting CEO of National Grid to become CEO of The Steppingstone Foundation. 

The Senate also confirmed current Commissioner Philip D. Moeller to a second term that will expire on June 30, 2015.  Commissioner Moeller joined the Commission in 2006.  Prior to joining FERC, Commissioner Moeller worked for both Alliant Energy Corporation and Calpine Corporation, as well as spending time in Capital Hill as the energy policy advisor to Senator Slade Gordon (R-WA).