On April 26, 2012, the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources approved the nominations of Tony Clark (R) and John Norris (D) to be members of FERC.  The nominees are now eligible for consideration by the full Senate. 

Mr. Clark, Chairman of the North Dakota Public Service Commission, was nominated to succeed former Commissioner Marc Spitzer.  If confirmed, Mr. Clark would serve a term ending June 30, 2016 (see January 30, 2012 edition of the WER).   

Commissioner Norris was re-nominated to serve on the commission for a five-year term ending June 30, 2017 (see February 13, 2012 edition of the WER).  

The Senate now has three options: confirm, reject, or take no action on the nomination.  Confirmation requires a simple majority vote.