On November 21, 2013, FERC Chairman Jon Wellinghoff announced that he will leave the Commission on November 24, 2013.  It was also announced that President Obama will appoint Commissioner Cheryl LaFleur to serve as acting chair upon Chairman Wellinghoff’s departure.

Chairman Wellinghoff tendered his resignation in May of this year (see May 31, 2013 edition of the WER), but agreed to stay on temporarily.  Chairman Wellinghoff initially joined the Commission in 2006, and was confirmed as Chairman in 2009.  During FERC’s monthly meeting, Commissioner LaFleur noted that Chairman Wellinghoff was the longest serving FERC Chairman.