On October 6, 2015, FERC Commissioner Philip D. Moeller announced his intention to leave the Commission at the end of October.  Commissioner Moeller has been with the Commission since 2006, when he was appointed by former President George W. Bush.  In 2010, Commissioner Moeller was re-appointed by President Obama for a five-year term that expired on June 30, 2015; however, he was permitted to remain at the agency until Congress adjourns, unless a replacement was confirmed and sworn in.  At this time, no one has been nominated to replace Commissioner Moeller.

In his statement announcing his intent to depart the agency, Commissioner Moeller thanked both President Obama and former President Bush for their nominations.  Commissioner Moeller also expressed that it was an honor and privilege to serve on the Commission and called FERC an “amazing agency.”  After leaving FERC, Commissioner Moeller indicated he plans to “pursue other opportunities in the energy field.”

Commissioner Moeller’s official statement can be found here.